Select grade below

Brayshaw breaks two decade Sandover Medal drought

Wednesday, September 13, 2023 - 3:37 PM

EAST Perth midfielder Hamish Brayshaw has become the first player from his club to win the Sandover Medal in more than two decades.

The Royals co-captain finished with 26 votes, seven clear of West Perth’s Luke Meadows, with Brayshaw’s teammate Angus Schumacher and Swan Districts wingman Jesse Turner a further vote behind in third position.

Brayshaw polled maximum votes in six games during the season, including Round 19 and Round 20.

After finishing equal runner-up in 2022, Brayshaw joins premiership winning ruckman Ryan Turnbull as the only other East Perth player to win WA’s most prestigious individual award this century.

“It’s taken a few days for the result to sink in and I feel extremely humbled to join such an illustrious group of former winners,” Brayshaw said.

“To have the result beyond doubt heading into the final round of the season was a bonus, but to be honest I needed that time to compose myself and grasp what I’d just achieved."

Brayshaw believes his 2023 season surpassed what he produced last year.

The midfield bull was a major factor in the Royals returning to September action, averaging 26 disposals a game, but adding an extra string to his bow in attack kicking 25 goals.

“I certainly think I had more impact this year and I definitely finished the home and away season in better form than 12 months ago," he said

“Hitting the scoreboard was also an area I was pleased to improve.”

Brayshaw comes from one of the most famous sporting families in Australia, with his brothers Andrew (Fremantle) and Angus (Melbourne) playing in the AFL.

Hamish was taken with pick 68 in the 2017 AFL National Draft by the West Coast Eagles, and despite being delisted in 2019, he was taken in the 2020 Rookie Draft and played one game for the club.

Brayshaw captained the Eagles WAFL side, before joining East Perth last year.

The 25 year-old is now content to watch his brothers play at the top level.

“I’m so proud of what they have and are achieving in the AFL," Brayshaw said.

“I’m really comfortable and happy playing at WAFL level and my next aim is to help East Perth taste premiership success in the near future.

“There are so many people at the East Perth Football Club and others who helped me win the Sandover Medal, particularly my family who have always been a great support over the years.”


26 – Hamish Brayshaw (East Perth)

19 – Luke Meadows (West Perth)

18 – Jesse Turner (Swan Districts

18 – Angus Schumacher (East Perth) 

17 – Mitch Crowden (East Perth)

17 – Milan Murdock (East Fremantle)

15 – Liam Hickmott (Subiaco)

14 – Jye Bolton (Claremont

13 – Bailey Rogers (Claremont)

13 – Zac Clarke (Subiaco)

12 – Will Brodie (Peel Thunder)

12 – Tom Blechynden (South Fremantle)

12 – Ben Hancock (Peel Thunder)

12 – Tyler Keitel (West Perth)

12 – Taj Schofield (Subiaco)